Welcome to Grove Academy
Welcome to Grove Academy
Welcome to Grove Academy
Welcome to Grove Academy
Welcome to Grove Academy

Grove Academy – War Memorial Unveiling


Grove Academy’s  WW1 and WW2 memorials have recently undergone substantial conservation and restoration since they were placed outside the school building in 2010, after the school moved into its new premises.

An Unveiling Ceremony will take place on Wednesday 12th June 2019 at 7.00pm which will showcase the restored memorials inside the school building, in the assembly hall.

Staff and pupils have been involved in researching the former pupils who are on our Roll of Honour. We still have a few names which we have found difficult to prove – if you have a relative on any of our memorials which you could give us some information on, or a photograph we would love to hear from you. We would be especially delighted to welcome any relatives to the Unveiling Ceremony.  We also have a limited number of tickets available to any members of our local community who would like to attend.                                                                 

Please contact John Anderson ddjanderson201@glow.sch.uk  or Karen O’Rourke ddkorourke52@glow.sch.uk  or call the school office on 01382 436800.


Grove Academy WW1 Roll Of Honour

George Allday Thomas Allday Marshall Angus
Gilbert Bannerman John Birss Alex. Ian Boyack
Alexander M Brand George Bremner George S Brown
James Brown Alexander Campbell Alex. K Collins
John Cook Herbert Coullie Murray Dickson
Robert C Dickson Ernest Duff James Elder
James Ellis Thomas Ellis James A Ewing
James Feathers Kenneth Fullerton James H Geddes
William I Gowans William G Grant George Gray
John Gray Percy Heggie G Albert Himsworth
Andrew S Hood Arthur Hunter Joseph Husband
George Ireland Robert Ireland William Ireland
James W Jeffrey George Lawrie Thomas G Loney
James C Longair   D Aitken Lumsden James M McBay
Harry A McDonald Ian Alister MacDougall John McGregor
Ian Mackenzie D Percival McIntyre Alfred A Mackay
William G Mackay James MacLaren Robert Macpherson
Roderick Macrae David McMahon Robert McNeill
Hamish Mann David S Martin Alex A Milne
Robert Milne J Marshall Mitchell Alex. E Moir
William Mortimer William M Morton William Neilson
William Nicoll Robert B Nicoll John A Peebles
Charles C Peter Tom E Procter James Rattray
Robert Rattray Alexander Reid Charles D Reid
William J N Robb David A Ross George Robertson
Thomas M Scott Fredrick Sherriff Thomas W Simpson
William Smith Alex. Stephen Alexander M Stewart
Robert M H Stewart William Stewart Alexander M Strachan
John A Sutherland William Sutherland Alexander Suttie
Martin Taylor James Eric Walker Jack Wilson
Harold Wright James Winning John E M Young


Grove Academy WW2  Roll Of Honour

Duncan N Bell Joseph Alan L Benson Thomas Braithwaite
Ian Henderson Bruce David Clark Donald N Cochrane
David K Comline Norman Cook John S Cox
Robert B Dick Partrick Munro Fleming Allan Guild
Alistair G Hall Leslie A Henson Gilbert S Hosie
Angus B Kirkaldy Herbert B Knowles Stewart M Lamb
George C Lawrence Ryan Low John C G McGuffie
Alexander Mackenzie Robert C Mitchell Robert C Nicolson
William Paton William W D Petrie John Ross
Robert D Royds Frank W Russell Alexander S R Sharpe
Allan J Simpson John S R Swanson David R Tait
Norman J N Tait John M Thyne Edward A Tragheim
Charles D Watt